TVMHC wins Award from the Idaho State Planning Council on Mental Health

Receiving the award in Boise
Brandi, Kay, Richard and I in Boise Idaho

The Teton Valley Mental Health Coalition won an award for our advocacy work in Teton Valley from the Idaho State Planning council on Mental Health. It was a tremendous honor and I was proud to accept the award as Co-Chair on behalf of the members of the coalition. Below is the acceptance letter that was sent to the committee chair:

Linda C. Hatzenbuehler
Legislative Committee Chair
Idaho State Planning Council on Mental Health

January 6, 2014
On behalf of the Teton Valley Mental Health Coalition, we would like to accept this invitation and award from the Idaho State Planning Council on Mental Health.

What an incredible honor it is for the Coalition to be nominated and receive this award. We have done a large amount of work over the past 4 years including creating new clinical programs, deepening, professional relationships, and cultivating more awareness about mental health.  There have been many agencies and people who have been an integral part of our design and success that we would like to formally recognize including:

The Behavioral Health Center in Idaho Falls including Pete Synder, Kay Seim, Brandi Daw, Richard Palmer and Roma Hawkins.
Family Safety Network in Driggs for their daily selfless acts of kindness and words of advice.
Teton Valley Hospital and the Teton Valley Hospital Foundation for playing an instrumental role in our creation and sustainability.
The Community Foundation of Teton Valley as they have been our fiscal sponsor for the past few years. Without them, we could not have served the community.
Kim Jardine-Dickerson for the nomination and the tireless hours she spends promoting mental health in Southeastern Idaho.
ISU, SPAN Idaho and SPAN Teton Valley including Sarah Dunn for the work they do in helping to prevent suicides and provide support to surviving family members and communities.
Teton County 401 school district and specifically Monte Woolstenhulme. There is no other Superintendent that we are aware of that has invested more into our community and specifically Children’s Mental Health more than Monte.
And lastly, a huge thanks to all the Coalition members. We really appreciate all the countless volunteer hours each have committed to our mission. Our efforts are working and we have evidence to prove it! The Mental Health Coalition exists because we care and it’s simply not fair nor ethical to our community, friends and family if we don’t offer our talents and skills for the greater good.  We look forward to continuing our mission which is to promote mental wellness in Teton Valley through education, community action, and the coordination of resources. Being recognized by this council is encouraging and lets us know we are on the right track to accomplish our goals. We look forward to meeting with you all on the 15th.

Adam Williamson, LCPC, Co-Chair

Sara McKeown, LCPC, Co-Chair

Richard Palmer, LPC, President of the Board

Faren Eddins, Vice President of the Board